2015-16 NY State Legislative Progress

New York was the 9th state to introduce the Healthy Workplace Bill

  • Assemblyman Steve Englebright re-introduced the Healthy Workplace Bill for 2015-16 on Jan. 22, 2015 as Assembly Bill AB 3250
  • AB 3250 currently has 80 sponsoring Assemblymembers.
  • The bill is the full version of the WBI anti-bullying Healthy Workplace Bill (HWB).
  • Read the text of A 3250 here.
  • On Jan. 13, 2016, Sen. James Sanders, Jr. introduced S 6438 the bill a companion (exactly worded as) AB 3250
  • Volunteer to help your State Coordinators, the NY Healthy Workplace Advocates by completing the form for Citizen Lobbyist at the bottom of this page. Vist the NYHWA Website


Primary Sponsor of Assembly Bill 3250

Name District Phone E-mail Website
Assemblymember Steve Englebright (Prime sponsor)    D-4 (518)455-4656 engles@ assembly.state.ny.us Here

E-mail links to the Assembly Co-Sponsors of A 3250.

Please thank and encourage each Assemblymember.

William Colton, Aileen Gunther, Charles Lavine, Ellen Jaffee, Michelle Schimel, Linda Rosenthal, Jose Rivera, Annette Robinson, J. Gary Pretlow, David Weprin, Donna Lupardo, Francisco Moya, Peter J. Abbate, Jr., Samuel Roberts, Michael Benedetto, Matthew Titone, Michael Miller, Felix Ortiz, Jeffrey Dinowitz, Andrew Hevesi, Addie J. Russell, Phillip Goldfeder, Keith L.T. Wright, Walter T. Mosley, Joseph Borelli, James Skoufis, Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes, Phil Steck, Shelly Mayer, Jeffrion L. Aubry

Multi-Sponsored by:

Carmen E. Arroyo, James Brennan, Anthony J. Brindisi, Karim Camara, John Ceretto, Barbara M. Clark, Vivian E. Cook, Marcos A. Crespo, Brian Curran, Michael Cusick, Steven Cymbrowitz, Maritza Davila, Janet Duprey, Patricia Fahy, Sandy Galef, Joseph M. Giglio, Andy Goodell, Richard Gottfried, Earlene Hooper, Mark Johns, Steve Katz, Joseph R. Lentol, Barbara Lifton, Chad A. Lupinacci, William Magee, Nicole Malliotakis, Margaret Markey, John T. McDonald III, David McDonough, Tom McKevitt, Steven F. McLaughlin, Michael Montesano, Bill Nojay, Daniel O'Donnell, Amy Paulin, Nick Perry, Edward Ra, Andrew Raia, Phil Ramos, Robert J. Rodriguez, Joseph Saladino, William Scarborough, Luis R. Sepulveda, Frank Skartados, Michaelle C. Solages, Dan Stec, James Tedisco, Fred Thiele, Michele Titus,

Assembly Labor Committee

Name District Phone E-mail Website
Assemblyman Carl E. Heastie, Chair    D-83 718-654-6539 HeastieC@assembly.state.ny.us Here

Primary Sponsor of Senate Bill 6438

Name District Phone E-mail Website
Senator James Sanders, Jr.    D-10 (518) 455-3531 sanders@nysenate.gov Here

Senate Co-Sponsors

Joseph P. Addabbo Jr., Leroy Comrie, David Carlucci, Adriano Espaillat, Jose M. Serrano, Liz Krueger, George Latimer, Bill Perkins, Diane Savino, Toby Ann Stavisky

Senate Labor Committee

Joseph P. Addabbo Jr., Greg Ball, John A. DeFrancisco, Martin Malavé Dilan, Patrick M. Gallivan, Mark Grisanti, Kemp Hannon, Ruth Hassell-Thompson, Brad Hoylman, Carl L Marcellino, Kathleen A. Marchione, Jack M. Martins, Kevin S. Parker, Bill Perkins, Gustavo Rivera, James Sanders Jr. Jose Serrano Lee M. Zeldin


Tuesday March 18, 2014 Press Conference, New York Healthy Workplace Advocates

Assemblyman Steve Englebright & Senator Diane Savino, bill sponsors
Mike Schlicht & Tom Witt, NY Healthy Workplace Advocates
Randy Goldberg, President CSEA Local 658, Albany
John Richter, Mental Health Assoc in NY State (MHANYS)
Citizen advocates

The 2012 press conference, broken into 3 parts for easy viewing.

  • Part 1 The Lawmakers (9:52)
    NY Lawmakers featuring Assemblymembers Steve Englebright, Aileen Gunther, Dennis Gabrysza, & Mark Johns and Senator Diane Savino.

  • Part 2 - Endorsing Unions & Organizations (17:37)
    Speakers: Michael Gary, Healthcare Coordinating Council, CWA; Iris Delutro, Professional Staff Congress, AFT; Tom Comanzo, Public Employees Federation (PEF); John Richter, Mental Health Association for NY State

  • Part 3 -Target Support (42:53)

  • Nov 14, 2011, WCBS-TV News Segment
    Featuring the NY HWB and the NYHWA


    The following organizations support the Healthy Workplace Bill in New York State.

    Memoranda of Support from

    Resolutions of Support from

    • Albany County Central Federation of Labor
    • American Federation of Teachers (AFT) (National)
    • Americans for Democratic Action (National)
    • NAACP (National)
    • United University Professions (Health and Safety Committee)

    Bill History

    New York, since 2006, has introduced more versions
    of the Healthy Workplace Bill than any other state.
    Thank you, NY Legislators of all parties.

    2013 - 2014

    Assembly bill AB 4965 was introduced with 84 co-sponsors. The companion bill S 3863 and passed the Senate Labor Committee.

    2011 - 2012

    Assembly bill AB 4258 was introduced. The companion bill S 4289 was introduced.


    New York was on the verge of passing this historic bill in 2010 and would have been the first state in the US to do so.
    Sponsors of Senate Bill S1823 B that PASSED the Senate in 2010!!!! Senators Thomas P. Morahan (deceased), George Onorato, Joseph Addabbo, Ruth Hassell-Thompson, Diane Savino

    NY Assembly Labor Committee Chair Susan John was quoted in the Wall Street Journal saying, "No other state in the country has a law like this." She was referring to the WBI anti-bullying Healthy Workplace Bill. Thanks to a bill-killing vote in her committee on June 8, that will be true for all of 2010. The vote was not on the merits of the bill. Instead, the vote was technically whether to vote or "hold." It was held and is officially dead.

    Read the summary of the news coverage about the Senate passage and Bloomberg's fear of the bill.

    Assemblyman Bob Barr introduced A 6207.


    A2247, the study only bill, passed both the Assembly and Senate but was vetoed Gov. Paterson.

    A banner 4-bill year, began with re-introduction of the study-only bills in the Assembly (A 2247) and Senate (S 1948) followed by a second set of companion bills, the complete versions of the HWB in both Assembly (A 5414) and Senate (S 1823). On April 29, 2009, S1823A added a provision to S 1823 to give union workers with collective bargaining agreements the best protection.

    A 5414 was co-sponsored by the following:Assemblymember William Colton (D),Assemblymember William Colton (D), Assemblymember Joan L. Millman (D), Assemblymember Charles D. Lavine (D), Assemblymember Ellen Jaffee (D), Assemblyman Mark Schroeder (D), Assemblymember Dennis H. Gabryszak (D), Assemblymember Bob Barra (R),Assemblymember Bob Barra (R), Assemblymember Bob Barra (R), Assemblymember N. Nick Perry (D), Assemblyman Joseph S. Saladino (D), Assemblyman Al Stirpe (D), Assemblywoman Michelle Schimel (D).


    Barra (R) graciously relinquished control of the bill to Assemblymember Steven Englebright (D) and the bill became A10291 with Barra leading the list of nine co-sponsors. The Senate companion bill [S8793] to the full HWB was added in 2008 by Senators Thomas Morahan and Dale Volker.


    Assemblymember Bob Barra introduced the first full-text versions of the Healthy Workplace Bill [A7801/A7801-A]. The 2006 study-only bills were repeated [S2715 by Stachowski and A4921 by Schroeder].


    Senator William Stachowski and Assemblymember Mark Schroeder sponsored the first state bills [S8018 and A11565] calling for the state to study the problem of workplace bullying. Those bills made New York the 9th state to introduce HWB-related legislation in the U.S.

    Volunteer as a Citizen Lobbyist

    Interested in working for enactment of the Healthy Workplace Bill in New York?

    Fill out the following form and we'll put you in contact with the State Coordinator.

    [si-contact-form form='32']